Noakhali Science and Technology University (NSTU)

Noakhali Science and Technology University (NSTU) Information

Noakhali Science and Technology University briefly NSTU is a government-financed Science and Technology University in Bangladesh established on July 15, 2001, enacting the Noakhali Science and Technology University Act.

It is an elective and a top-ranked university that started its academic activities on June 22, 2006. The university incepts its operation with four undergraduate degrees in four different disciplines – Fisheries and Marine Science, Applied Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Pharmacy, and Microbiology.

Now it is one of the well-known universities in Bangladesh that has contributed to the Science and Technology-based improvement and built skillful graduates who will be able to overcome any future obstacles. It is the 27th public university (out of 32) and fifth science and technology university in Bangladesh.

Noakhali Science and Technology University

Noakhali is one of the biggest districts in Bangladesh. For many days, the people of Noakhali demanded to the concerned body to establish a university that would keep contributing to the development of the people of Noakhali.

Foremost, the former Prime Minister Khaleda Zia lid down the foundation stone of the NATU on 11 October 2003.

Later, Shiekh Hasina, the running prime minister, started work for the university to inaugurate its work on 24 March 2005. At last, the university started its academic activities on 22 June 2006.

  • Type: Public
  • Nickname: NSTU
  • Established: 2005
  • Chancellor: President Abdul Hamid
  • Vice-Chancellor: Md. Didar-ul-Alam
  • Students: 6,437
  • Undergraduates: 5,327
  • Postgraduates: 1,100
  • Location: Noakhali, 3814, Bangladesh
  • Campus: Urban, 101 acres (41 ha)
  • Language: English
  • Website:

NSTU Location & Area

Noakhali Science and Technology University is in a good position in location. It is located at Sonapur, 8 kilometers southwest of Maijdee (22°47′31″N 91°06′07″E). It is beside the University Raod. The entire campus of the university is spread over 101 acres of land.

NSTU Faculty And Subject List With Seats

NSTU has 6 faculty and 2 institutions, and there are also 30 departments under the departments.

There are 2 established Academic Buildings, namely Academic Building-1 and Academic Building-2, in this University. One academic building is now under construction, the most significant academic building in Bangladesh.

Department Seat
Faculty of Engineering and Technology
Computer Science and Telecommunication Engineering 50
Applied Chemistry and Chemical Engineering 50
Information and Communication Engineering 50
Electrical and Electronics Engineering 50
Faculty of Science
Fisheries and Marine Science 50
Pharmacy 50
Microbiology 45
Applied Mathematics 50
Environmental Science and Disaster Management 45
Food Technology and Nutrition Science 30
Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering 40
Agriculture 50
Statistics 50
Oceanography 40
Biochemistry 40
Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities
English 28
Economics 52
Bangladesh and Liberation War Studies 24
Bangla 23
Sociology 25
Social Work 28
Faculty of Business Administration
Business Administration 15
Tourism and Hospitality Management 20
Management Information Systems 27
Faculty of Education Sciences
Education 38
Educational Administration 25
Faculty of Law
Law 34
Institute of Information Technology (IIT)
Software Engineering (SE) 35
Institute of Information Sciences (IIS)
Information Sciences and Library Management 33

NSTU Admission

Noakhali Science and Technology University arranges admission to admit the students at the under graduation courses. Right now, the university offers IIT, IIS, CSTE, ACCE, ICE, EEE, FIMS, Pharmacy, Microbiology, Applied Mathematics, FTNS, ESDM, BGE, Agriculture, Statistics, Oceanography, BMB, Zoology, English, Economics, BLWS, Sociology, Bangla, Social Work, DBA, MIS, THM, Education, Educational Administration, LAW degrees to the students.

If you are interested in getting admitted here, then here is the link you may visit for any admission-related information.

NSTU Facility

NSTU focuses on the improvement of the Science & Technology-based topic. And so the university provides all the facilities and services to its students so that they can make themselves fast and updated with the demons of the modern era. Here are some facilities provided by the university.

NSTU Central Library

Noakhali Science and Technology University Central Library was established in 2006 to provide the best library services to students, faculty members, and researchers. The central library aims to provide IT-based services.

The library contains 22550 books, 627 journals, and 13293 e-books for the students. The library also offers research and academic information to improve faster.

NSTU Residential Halls

Noakhali Science and Technology University has 5 halls of residence for both boys and girls. Here is the list of the residential halls.

  • Vasha Sahid Abdus Salam Hall (ASH)
  • Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Hall (BSMRH)
  • Abdul Malek Ukil Hall (MUH)
  • Bibi Khadija Hall (BKH)
  • Bangamata Sheikh Fazilatunesa Mujib Hall (BSFMH)

NSTU International Cooperation and Collaboration Centre (ICCC)

Noakhali Science and Technology University has an institute named International Cooperation and Collaboration Centre (ICCC) that dreams of becoming a Centre of Excellence as a constituent body of the NSTU to promote collaborations in education and research with the world-leading universities.

ICCC supports to exchange of scientific knowledge and works together with world-leading universities. ICCC assists NSTU in sharing skills and technology with the North and the South universities by building both North-South Cooperation and South-South Cooperation.

NSTU Medical Center

A medical center in the NUST is located at the administration building ground floor, room no-117. The Medical Center offers free experienced general practitioner and emergency medical care services. There are some dedicated doctors in the 24 hrs services to the students.

NSTU Cyber Center

The Cyber Center of the NUST was established on 29th March 2011 on the ground floor of Academic building-1. The Cyber Center was inaugurated by the former Honourable State Minister Architect Yeafesh Osman on 29 March 2011. The Cyber Center is undoubtedly beneficial for the students and the staff. There is a collection of 25 computers here for the students to support the university students’ academic, research, and administrative functions.

Cyber Center Services

• Maintaining NSTU Official Website.
• Maintaining and Updating NSTU Dairy Mobile Apps.
• NSTU Email (NSTU SOFTBOX) Services.
• Official ID Card Printing.
• Internet Browsing facilities for all students, teachers, officers, and staff (In Cyber Center Lab Room).

That’s all about the Noakhali Science and Technology University. I know that all this information is not enough for you. Still, I am trying to add more details here to make the article informative-based to get all the information you need about the university.

About the Author: Sohanur

Shohanur is an editor for the University Admission BD website. He writes about the admission process of different universities in Bangladesh. He also writes about the various scholarships, results, question banks, suggestions, and financial aid available for students.

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *