Habiganj Agricultural University (HAU) Information

Habiganj Agricultural University briefly HAU, a government-financed Agricultural university established in 2021. It is the 49th public university & 6th Agricultural University in Bangladesh. It is one of the recently established Agricultural Universities, and right now, the university is undergoing construction.

The Cabinet of the Government of Bangladesh passed the law on 1 April 2019. The university is committed to providing all the modern services that it should be in a modern agricultural university.


History Of Habiganj Agricultural University

Habiganj Agricultural University was established under the direction of Hon’ble Prime Minister of the Government of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh Sheikh Hasina under Sustainable Development Goals – Food Security, Nutrition and Agriculture Development.

The then Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina promised to set up the university in Habiganj Newfield on November 29, 2014. Education Minister Dr. Dipu Moni moved the bill in the House, and it was passed in voice votes with Speaker Dr. Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury in the chair on 10 September 2020.

Location Of The University

Habiganj Agricultural University (HAU) is located in Habiganj, Bangladesh. The location of the university has not been fixed yet properly that where the university will be set up in Habiganj.

HAU Academic Body

Habiganj Agricultural University contains a huge academic body and is under construction as a public agricultural university. Though the university will take time to be built up as a suitable university for this era, it will provide world-class services and education facilities to the students in the future. The university will start with three faculty primarily and some other disciplines under these faculties.

  • Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences
  • Faculty of Agriculture
  • Faculty of Fisheries and Oceanography

Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences

  1. Anatomy and histology
  2. Physiology
  3. Pharmacology and Agadatantra
  4. Microbiology and public health
  5. Livestock production and management
  6. Pathology
  7. Parasitology
  8. Genetics and animal breeding
  9. Dairy science
  10. Poultry science
  11. Epidemic and preventive medicine
  12. Animal nutrition
  13. Medicine
  14. Surgery
  15. Theriogenology

Faculty of Agriculture

  1. Agriculture
  2. Soil science
  3. Entomology
  4. Horticulture
  5. Plant pathology
  6. Crop botany
  7. Plant genetics and biotechnology
  8. Agricultural Extension and Information System
  9. Agroforestry and environmental science
  10. Agricultural Chemistry
  11. Biochemistry and molecular biology

Faculty of Fisheries and Oceanography

  1. Fish biology and genetics
  2. Aquaculture
  3. Conservation and management of fishery resources
  4. Fisheries technology and quality control
  5. Oceanography
  6. Fish health management

That’s all I have so long. If you need more information about the university, please set me via a comment below. I will try to make the article rich and the best source of information about HAU.

About the Author: Sohanur

Shohanur is an editor for the University Admission BD website. He writes about the admission process of different universities in Bangladesh. He also writes about the various scholarships, results, question banks, suggestions, and financial aid available for students.

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *