Pabna University of Science And Technology (PUST)

Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science and Technology University (BSMRSTU), Gopalganj

Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science and Technology University is a public category university named after Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, established in 2001. The 32nd general University and 8th Science and Technology University started academic activities in 2011.

The university mainly focuses on research and innovation in the Science and Technology sectors to make the sector at the extreme point and make the best use to increase the utilize at our common use in our daily life.

The university abounds of a number of professional, efficient instructors who always try to build skilled tactful graduates who will provide a logical solution to the present and future challenges. Right now, 12,000 students are taking higher education from the university.

Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science and Technology University (BSMRSTU)

The Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science and Technology University (BSMRSTU) started in 2001 with the combined declaration of the then Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and its cabinet. M. Khairul Alam Khan was appointed to monitor and run the project, and in his diligent efforts, the dream of forming the BSMRSTU came true.

Honorable Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina commenced its foundation on 13 July 2011, and the university was enacted on 8 July 2001. At the same time, M. Khairul Alam Khan was nominated as the BSMRSTU.

Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science and Technology University
Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science and Technology University

Under the government of the four-party alliance government of Jamaat-BNP in 2001, the university’s advancement has been postponed. After the BNP regime, Awami League came to power to take charge on 29 December 2008 and resumed the remaining work of the university.

  • Another name: BSMRSTU
  • Motto: Learn.Think.Innovate
  • Type: Public Research University
  • Established: July 8, 2001
  • Academic affiliations: UGC, Bangladesh
  • Chancellor: President of Bangladesh
  • Vice-Chancellor: A. Q. M. Mahbub
  • Academic staff:306
  • Students: 11,000+
  • Location: Gopalganj-8100, Bangladesh
  • Campus: 55 acres (0.22 km2)
  • Language: English
  • Website:

BSMRSTU Location & Area

Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science & Technology University is beside the Gopalganj Town Road, Gopalganj-8100, Bangladesh 22.9661°N 89.8171°E. The entire campus of the university is spread over an area of about 55 acres.

BSMRSTU Academic Body

BSMRSTU dreams of being one of the most popular research and innovation-based universities, so it has a bast academic body. There is a total of 34 departments under 7 faculties. There are also some institutions of the university.

Name of Faculty Department Seat Dean
Faculty of Engineering
Engineering Computer Science and Engineering 40 Dr. Saleh Ahmed
Electrical and Electronic Engineering 40
Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering 40
Applied Chemistry and Chemical Engineering 40
Civil Engineering 40
Food and Agroprocess Engineering 40
Architecture 40
Science Mathematics 40 Prof. Dr. Md. Shahjahan
Statistics 40
Chemistry 40
Physics 40
Environmental Science & Disaster Management 60
Life Science Pharmacy 50 Prof. Dr. A. Q. M. Mahbub
Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering 40
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology 40
Psychology 40
Botany 40
Humanities English 50 Mohammad Ashiquzzaman Bhuiyan
Bangla 50
Social Science Sociology 60 Prof. Dr. A. Q. M. Mahbub
Public Administration 60
International Relations 60
Economics 60
Political Science 60
Business Studies Management Studies 50 Md. Rokonuzzaman
Accounting and Information Systems 50
Marketing 50
Finance and Banking 50
Tourism and Hospitality Management 50
Law Law 50 Dr. Md. Raziur Rahman
Sheikh Hasina Agriculture Institute Agriculture 40 Professor Dr. Md. Mozahar Ali
Fisheries and Marine Bioscience 40
Livestock Science and Veterinary Medicine 40

BSMRSTU Institute

  • Bangabandhu Institute of Liberation War and Bangladesh Studies
  • Sheikh Hasina Agriculture Institute
    -Department of Agriculture
    -Department of Fisheries and Marine Bioscience
    -Department of Livestock Science and Veterinary Medicine

BSMRSTU Admission

The admission committee conducts the admission process for the Bachelor’s & Master’s degrees. There are available programs here. Thousands of students are getting higher education here. If you are interested in getting admitted here, visit the following link below and get throughout admission information.

BSMRSTU Facility

Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science & Technology University, Gopalganj, offers various facilities for the students and staff. The students must be fit and tactful for the upcoming problems and keep peace with the modern world.

With this in mind, BSMRSTU offers available facilities like the other universities. Here are some most outstanding facilities provided by the university.

BSMRSTU Library (Ekushe February Library)

BSMRSTU has a library named Ekushe February Library that is in service to develop student’s talents in the library. The library was inaugurated on 09th Falgun 1420 BS, 21 February 2014. There is an opportunity to study research books, including local and foreign journals.

There are opportunities to read daily newspapers, weekly, monthly, quarterly, bi-monthly magazines, reports, journals, magazines, etc.

There are Muktijoddha Corners: Various books and research articles written on Muktijoddha. Students can use an e-journal, and any student can partly take a photocopy of any book. The library is run from 9:00 AM to 08:00 PM.

BSMRSTU Residential Hall

Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science & Technology University, Gopalganj, offers residential halls for the students. There are five complete halls, and one is under construction for the girls.

  • Shadhinota Dibos Hall
  • Bijoy Dibos Hall
  • Bangamata Sheikh Fazilatunnesa Mujib Hall
  • New Girls Hall
  • Sheikh Rasel Hall
  • Sheikh Rehana Hall


Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science & Technology University also offers the ICT Cell for the students where students and the staff can get ICT-based support. Here are some ICT Cells of the Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science & Technology University.

Sheikh Hasina Institute of ICT

  • Department of Computer Science and Engineering
  • Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering
  • Department of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering

University Clubs

BSMRSTU set up a couple of clubs and societies improving the student’s quality and flourishing the latent talent. Here are some clubs below.

  • Tourism Theater
  • Rainbow Cultural Club
  • BSMRSTU Photographic Society
  • BSMRSTU Journalists Association
  • BSMRSTU Debating Society

BSMRSTU Administrative Body

Here is the administrative body of the BSMRSTU monotone and runs the whole function.

  • Chancellor: Md. Abdul Hamid Hon’ble President The People’s Republic of Bangladesh
  • Vice-Chancellor: Prof. Dr. A. Q. M. Mahbub
  • Section Officer:
    -Md. Alamgir Hossain,
    -Md. Robiul Islam,
  • Administrative Officer: Mehedi Hasan

I hope this article appears good to you. If you have more information, then send us. I will try to make this article information-rich.

About the Author: Sohanur

Shohanur is an editor for the University Admission BD website. He writes about the admission process of different universities in Bangladesh. He also writes about the various scholarships, results, question banks, suggestions, and financial aid available for students.

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *